Skip to main content

How to use Multiple Monitors on Virtual Desktop

Published: 9 May 2022

IT Service

Back to FAQs homepage | Back to / category


4
(1)

How to use multiple monitors on Virtual Desktop

The default display settings for the Remote Desktop App will normally detect if you have more than one monitor setup and display your Virtual Desktop on both screens automatically when you log in.

If only one display is working

If only one monitor is showing when logging into Virtual Desktop then the display settings need to be checked. To do this:

  • Log into the Remote Desktop App
  • Right click on the Staff- Full Desktop icon and click Settings.
Remote Desktop Settings
  • In Settings slide the Use default Settings button to the left to turn it off
  • To use all connected monitors, make sure Display Configuration is set to ‘All Displays’
Display Settings

When you now launch your Virtual Desktop the desktop should now display on all screens.

Advanced Settings

You can change more of the settings for your monitors by clicking on Display Configuration

Single display options

Start in full screen determines whether the session will launch in full-screen or windowed mode.

Update the resolution on resize makes the remote desktop resolution automatically update when you resize the session in windowed mode. When disabled, the session always remains at whichever resolution you specify in Resolution.

Resolution lets you specify the resolution of the remote desktop. The session will retain this resolution for its entire duration. This setting is only available in Single display mode and when Update the resolution on resize is disabled.

Select displays options.

Here you can select which of your display’s you would like the Virtual Desktop to appear on. In the example below the Virtual Desktop will appear on monitor 1 and 2 as they are selected.

Advanced Settings.

Maximize to current displays determines which displays the sessions will use when going full screen. When enabled, the session goes full screen on the displays touched by the session window. This allows you to change displays during the session. When disabled, the session goes full screen on the same displays it was on the last time it was full screen.

Single display when windowed determines which displays are available in the session when exiting full screen. When enabled, the session switches to a single display in windowed mode. When disabled, the session retains the same displays in windowed mode as in full screen. This setting is only available in All displays and Select display modes and is disabled otherwise.

Fit session to window determines how the session is displayed when the resolution of the remote desktop differs from the size of the local window. When enabled, the session content will be resized to fit inside the window while preserving the aspect ratio of the session. When disabled, scrollbars or black areas will be shown when the resolution and window size don’t match. This setting is available in all modes.

How useful was this FAQ?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this FAQ.

We are sorry that this FAQ was not useful for you.

Your feedback helps us improve our content.

Please let us know what was wrong.


Back to top