Skip to main content

How do I remove or change sharing links in SharePoint?

Published: 30 June 2021 Last updated: 17 August 2022

IT Service

Back to FAQs homepage | Back to / / category


1
(2)

What are sharing links?

The files you store on a SharePoint site are usually available to everyone with permissions to the site, but you may want to share specific files or folders with people who don’t otherwise have access to the site. When you use the share button to share files and folders, you can decide whether to let people edit or just view them. You can see who a SharePoint file is shared with, and stop sharing SharePoint files or folders, or change permissions, at any time.


Change permissions to view only/edit

A sharing link can be changed from view only to edit permissions via the Manage Access settings.

  1. Navigate to the file or folder location on the SharePoint site.
  2. Right-click on the file or folder you want to manage then choose Manage Access.
  3. Within the ‘Links giving access’ section, select the three dots next to the link you want to manage.
  4. Under ‘Link settings’ select the drop-down menu and set the desired option. (View or Edit)
  5. Press Save to confirm the changes.

Delete a sharing link

Each link that has been created will be listed separately in the Links giving access section of the Manage Access settings. Please note that if you delete a sharing link, this will affect all users that have been given access via that link.

  1. Right click on the file or folder then choose Manage Access.
  2. Select the three dots … next to the link you want to delete.
  3. Select the X next to the link.
  4. A warning will displayed advising that this will affect everyone who uses this link. If you’re sure you want to remove it, press Delete link.

Add or remove users from a sharing link

When you use the option to share with Specific people, it is often useful to access the settings to add or remove users rather than creating additional sharing links.

Remove a user

  1. Right click on the file or folder then choose Manage Access.
  2. Select the three dots… next to the link you want to update.
  3. Under ‘This link works for’ you will see a list of users that have access via this link. Select the X to the right of the staff member’s name to remove their access. You will be prompted to confirm.
  4. Press Save to confirm the changes.

Add a user

  1. Right click on the file or folder then choose Manage Access.
  2. Select the three dots… next to the link you want to update.
  3. Under ‘This link works for’ you will see a box that says ‘Specify people for this link’. Enter names into this field to add more users.
  4. Press Save to confirm the changes.

Further information

For further information, please see the Microsoft support article: Stop sharing OneDrive or SharePoint files or folders, or change permissions

How useful was this FAQ?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 1 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this FAQ.

We are sorry that this FAQ was not useful for you.

Your feedback helps us improve our content.

Please let us know what was wrong.


Back to top